9 Ondo lawmakers pull out of impeachment process against deputy gov

9 Ondo lawmakers pull out of impeachment process against deputy gov
July 07
13:40 2020

Nine lawmakers of the Ondo state house of assembly have pulled out of the impeachment process against Agboola Ajayi, the deputy governor. 

The lawmakers in a letter signed by nine of them and presented to the speaker of the assembly, Bamidele Oloyelogun, said they were not in support of the impeachment move against Ajayi.

The lawmakers are Iroju Ogundeji, Jamiu Maito, Raaheed Elegbeleye, Tomide Akinribido, Samuel Ademola, Favour Semilore, Festus Akingbaso, Williams Adekunle and Success Torhukerhijo.

But an impeachment notice has been served on the deputy governor.

In the notice, Ajayi was accused of gross misconduct.

In the letter seen by TheCable, 14 of the lawmakers supported the impeachment of Ajayi.

Ajayi had defected from the All Progressives Congress (APC) to the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), but insisted on remaining in office.

There are 26 lawmakers in the assembly, and at least 18 members are needed to form a quorum.



WHATSAPP 08113975334
TWITTER @thecableng
Copyright 2020 TheCable. All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from TheCable.

Social Comments

1 Comment

  1. Seguar
    Seguar July 07, 15:49

    To get 4 will not be difficult.

    Reply to this comment

Write a Comment

Your email address will not be published.
Required fields are marked *


NOTE: The black market rates represent the most prevalent. They could be slightly higher or lower among different sellers.